Visit the Geocaching Victoria store to purchase St Arnaud pathtags which can be collected at the MEGA event. Many thanks to Ozglory Designs for designing these tags for us. People have inquired about using the border on their own pathtags and we suggest you contact Ozglory Designs.
|The Old Post Office was constructed in 1866 during the gold rush era which had 2 further storeys added on in 1895 doubling its size. The iconic building was the official St Arnaud Post & Telegraph Office until 1925. It is now used as a B&B apartment accommodation.|
|European settlement in the region began with the establishment of the Tottington sheep station to the south in 1838. Merino wool is one of the important agricultural farming products in the district.|
|St Arnaud is a former gold mining town. Settled in the mid 1850s, gold was found 2 kms east of the townsite in 1855. Alluvial gold declined after the initial flurry then reef mining began at Wilsons Hill. The towns last operating goldmine The Lord Nelson operated nearby in what is now Pioneer Park.|
|St Arnaud features many well preserved historic buildings which line the main thoroughfare of Napier Street.|
|The Northern Grampians district was first settled by cattle and sheep pioneers who discovered the regions premium pastoral land and grazing conditions.|
Geocoins will be listed early 2019.